When Mizoram became a Union Territory on 21 January 1972, it was divided into three districts: Aizwal, Lunglei and Chhimtuipui. Later five more districts were carved out of the already existing three districts.

A district of Mizoram is headed by a Deputy Commissioner who is in charge of the administration in that particular district. He has to perform triple functions as he holds three positions as the Deputy Commissioner, the District Magistrate and the District Collector.As a Deputy Commissioner he is the executive head of the district.The District Magistrate is responsible for maintaining the law and order situation in the district.As the Collector he is the Chief Revenue Officer of the district who is responsible for revenue collection and recovery.
Superintendent of Police (SP) controls the police administration of each district.
A district is divided into one or more subdivisions, further divided into tehsils and blocks.

#DistrictSub-DistrictsPopulationIncreaseSex RatioLiteracyDensity
1AizawlList400,30922.92 %100997.89 %112
2LungleiList161,42817.64 %94788.86 %36
3ChamphaiList125,74516.01 %98495.91 %39
4LawngtlaiList117,89460.14 %94565.88 %46
5MamitList86,36437.56 %92784.93 %29
6KolasibList83,95527.28 %95693.50 %61
7SerchhipList64,93720.56 %97797.91 %46
8SaihaList56,574-7.34 %97990.01 %40

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.