mizoram headlinesAIZAWL, Oct 9: Of the 1,164 polling stations across the State, ten polling stations located in the north-eastern part of Mizoram bordering Manipur have been identified as critical, State CEO SB Shashank said. The critical polling stations are Zokhawthiang, NE Tinghmun, Sailutar, Sunhluchhip and Ratu-I and II under the Tuivawl constituency, and NE Tlangnuam and Daido under the Chalfilh constituency. 

Additional troops of State police and paramilitary forces will be deployed in these polling stations for smooth conduct of the elections, slated on November 28 next. The critical polling stations are located in areas which used to be the operational base of the now disbanded Hmar People’s ConventionDemocratic (HPC-D). The outfit signed a peace agreement with the Mizoram Government earlier this year before its disbandment. The CEO said the election machinery is fully prepared to conduct elections to the 40-seat Assembly on November 28. Among the 7,68,181 voters, there are 3,93,685 female voters outnumbering their male counterparts.

Aizawl district Deputy Commissioner and District Electoral Officer Dr A Muthamma said that Aizawl is fully prepared to conduct elections to the 14 Assembly constituencies within the district. She added that 2,88,322 voters, including 1,51,590 female voters, would exercise their franchise in 328 polling stations in the district alone. The DC said there are seven returning officers and 14 assistant returning officers for Aizawl district. VVPAT machines will be used in all the polling stations, she added. Dr A Muthamma stated that one phase of EVM ‘randomization’ has been completed and around 35,000 voters took part in a mock poll, adding that people can lodge any poll-related complaints by dialling 1950. 

Elections to all the 40 Assembly seats will be held in a single phase on November 28. The last date for filing nomination is November 9, while the scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on November 12. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 14. Counting will be done on December 11. According to Dr A Mathumma, there will be five counting centres in Aizawl located at Pachhunga University College, Government Aizawl College, Hrangbana College, Assembly Annex and R Dengthuama hall. - Assam Tribune

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.