Saiha District was formerly part of Chhimtuipui District. In 1998 when Chhimtuipui District was split in half, the half that became Saiha District was briefly called by the old name Chhimtuipui District.

Siaha (Saiha in Mizo) district
District of Mizoram
 • Lok Sabha constituenciesMizoram
 • Assembly seats3
 • Total1,399.9 km2(540.5 sq mi)
Population (2011)
 • Total56,574
 • Density40/km2 (100/sq mi)
 • Urban25,110 (44.38%)
 • Literacy90.01
 • Sex ratio979
WebsiteOfficial website


Saiha is the administrative headquarters of Saiha district. It is the third largest town in Mizoram after Aizawl, the state capital and LungleiTuipangSangauPhura and Bualpui NG are the other main towns in Saiha district.


In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Saiha one of the country's 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640).[2] It is one of the two districts in Mizoram currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

According to the 2011 census Saiha district has a population of 56,574, roughly equal to the island of Greenland.[3] This gives it a ranking of 628th in India (out of a total of 640). The district has a population density of 40 inhabitants per square kilometre (100/sq mi). Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was -7.34%; the only district in Mizoram to have decreased population. Saiha has a sex ratio of 979 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 90.01%.[4]
The majority of the district inhabitants are Mara people, who also have an autonomous district council called Mara Autonomous District Council composed of the two R.D. Blocks of Saiha and Tuipang; the Lai people, on the other hand, are the main inhabitants of Sangau R.B block, which is part of the Lai Autonomous District Council.

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.