The Diocese of Aizawl was formerly known as the Diocese of Silchar. The Diocese of Silchar was made up of the districts of Cachar Hailakandi and Karimganj of Assam State, the entire Tripura and Mizoram States. The Diocese is bounded on the west by Bangladesh while the northern extremity wedges into the segment of a circle which touches from the East Khasi Hills of Meghalaya to the North Cachar Hills of Assam, on the northern section of the east lies Manipur state, on the southern section the Chin Hills of Myanmar, on the south, the northern extremity of Arakan districts of Myanmar.

This ecclesiastical unit was established as the Prefecture Apostolic of Haflong by an Apostolic Brief "Fit Numquam" dated January 17, 1952, and entrusted to the Holy Cross Fathers of the Canadian Province. By an Apostolic construction of Pope Paul VI ‘Omnium Solicitudo’, dated June 26, 1969, the Prefecture of Haflong was raised to the status of a Diocese with the Episcopal See at Silchar. Most Rev Denzil D’Souza became the first Bishop of the Diocese of Silchar. In December 1983, the northern Cachar Hills district was detached from the Diocese of Silchar and joined to the new Diocese of Diphu.

On 7th February 1996 the entire State of Tripura was cut off from the Diocese of Silchar thereby forming the New Diocese of Agartala, of which Rev Fr Lumen Monteiro CSC was appointed as its first Bishop. The remaining portion of Silchar Diocese comprises at present the districts of Cachar, Hailakandi and Karimganj (Barak Valley) of Assam State and the entire State of Mizoram.  By the division of Silchar Diocese on 7th February 1996, it is henceforth to be called Aizawl Diocese, and its Episcopal See is transferred from Silchar to Aizawl.

Due to Bishop Denzil's ill-health, on his resignation, Most Rev. Lumen Monteiro, CSC was appointed the Apostolic Administrator of Aizawl Diocese. Bishop Denzil D’Souza went to eternal reward on the 25th Oct 2002. The new Bishop-elect, Fr. Stephen Rotluanga, CSC, was ordained Bishop on the 2nd February, 2002.

Contact Us: Comunication Secretary's emails

Rev. Fr. L. Jerome Vungbiakdika
Communication Secretary
P.B. No. 45
AIZAWL - 796 001
0389-2347199 (House)
0389-2342257 (Fax)
0389-2342265 (Bishop)

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.