History of Siaha District
Saiha District was formerly part of Chhimtuipui District. In 1998 when Chhimtuipui District was bifurcated into Two (2) District Saiha District and Lawngtlai District, the half that became Saiha District was briefly called by the old name Chhimtuipui District which is later known as Saiha. Saiha District is one of the eight districts of Mizoram state in India. The district is bounded on north by Lunglei, Lawngtlai District and on the west by Lawngtlai and on the south and east by Myanmar. Saiha town is the administrative headquarters of the district. The majority of the district inhabitants are Lakher (Mara) people, who also has an autonomous district council called ‘Mara Autonomous District Council’ under the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India since 1971. The Council functions like mini- Legislative Assembly withpowers to pass their own customary laws and rules, subject to ratification by the Administrator (Governor of Mizoram). Saiha district is comprised of numerous hills and valleys and is rich in vegetation and forests. There are two Blocks in the Disrtict, Saiha and Tuipang.

Saiha District Police is headed by the Superintendant of Police and has three police stations, viz: Saiha, Tuipang and Phura. The SP is assisted by an Additional SP, Dy. SP and SDPO. The law & order and crime situation in the district is quite normal and Saiha is one of the most peaceful districts of Mizoram. The people of Saiha are peace loving and law abiding. The NGOs also assist police in ensuring healthy crime free environment.

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.